VietComBank Interest Rate 16% / year

[large]Hi guys,

Juz wanna check it is safe to open a saving account with the local banks in hcmc?

The banks is giving 16% per yr ( interest rate ).

Have anyone here open an account yet???
[/large]

rambo4 wrote:

[large]Hi guys,

Juz wanna check it is safe to open a saving account with the local banks in hcmc?

The banks is giving 16% per yr ( interest rate ).

Have anyone here open an account yet???
[/large]

Yup, I have an account with Vietcombank too.
However, I think this interest rate is only for timed deposits, not savings accounts, am I right?

If you're interested in receiving terrible, disorganized, unfriendly, service then definitely choose Vietcom Bank. If you prefer to be treated like a human being, then try HSBC or ANZ.

Hey bro, the interest rates are incredibly high only because the inflation rate is incredibly high as well.

If you ask about "safe", this bank can be seen as safer than other private bankers. Vietnamese government will back up it as its practice for other state-own companies.

Thus, you can get back your money even if with 16% rate

lucas 247 wrote:

If you ask about "safe", this bank can be seen as safer than other private bankers. Vietnamese government will back up it as its practice for other state-own companies.

Thus, you can get back your money even if with 16% rate

thanks for the reply. but i intend to put 200k usd which is 4billion vnd.

can u advise?

That amount of money will raise huge red flags. Do you have a good explanation where it came from? Is that cash or a wire transaction? Be prepared for the authorities to track your financial transactions, for real. I speak from experience. Sounds like you could use some good financial advice from an expert. Be very careful... Don't make a move until you know all the consequences.

Hi Rambo,

I have heard rates as high as 20% for 2 billion VNDs.  Keep in mind that the branch manager has a couple of percents at his/her disposal.