Danger at work

I work in a shop that requires my colleagues and I to use two different ladders many times per day. One is taller than the other, both are too shaky to be suitable for the how we use them in relation to how far up we must climb, the things we have to bring down, the dangerous glass shelves in the surroundings, and the fact that customers are sometimes in the shop while they are being used. Well really they are too shaky to be used at all. The ladders are probably around 8 years old, and were once suitable for occasional domestic use, such as changing lightbulbs a few times a year, rather than being closed and shut and climbed 20-60 times a day every day. One of them closes off centre, like a scissor rather than a clamp so to speak. The feet are worn, the plastic corners that once encrusted the metal edges have snapped off in a lot of places, which my boss thought he would fix by covering them with white silicone mass, which is...well...really ugly on top of everything. I have informed and nagged my boss and am still stuck having to climb scary ladders every day. He doesn't care. I have called social security and can't speak to anyone it seems, so i was wondering if anyone knows of anything I can do. The ideal thing would be to be able to call for some kind of inspection to make sure my boss will be obligated to provide new ladders of higher quality without me having to just refuse to "do my job" and not climb the ladders but do it all the legal way. Any advice? I don't know how much help I will get if I book an appointment at social security and I don't want to waste their time in case they do nothing. Dude makes 2000-7000 euros a day, but is stretching out the lives of 50 and 80 euro ladders, when we should have 180 euro work quality ladders. I'm tired of watching my colleagues almost fall and risking my own safety several times a day.