Expat women in Philippines

I am  a mature age Aussie woman living here with my husband. Although I love it here, it can be difficult. For example, most of the Filipino houses are entirely unsuitable for the tropical climate. They tend to be two or three storeys instead of bungalow designs with wide decks to avoid the heat. I hadn't realised how well Aussies built houses to suit the climate until we moved here. Most of the expat men are married to Filipinos so I am in the minority here which is understandable. No I don't leave the toilet seat up for my partner and I certainly expect him to share some of the household tasks just as we used to do Aust.

so where r u from mam?

I live in Subic. I like the area but some things are limited. I make a monthly trip to Manila to buy groceries at S& R. We have a terrific Aussie butcher here who brings in Aust beef. I am a retired teacher but I still stay involved in the profession.

Hi,

We are planning to have a get together at the Fort this end of the month, would you and your husband like to join? Where do you usually stay when you come and visit Manila? Are you guys driving or do you have a driver? Let me know if you need help on your accommodations so I can get you a discounted rate.

My family are also going to Subic, Clark and Bataan this November. Perhaps we can meet with you as well. My parents in law who are in their 80's came with us to retire here but we are based in Alabang area.

I understand your predicament, that's why we bought a bungalow house and we have a self-sustaining house and cool enough without having to pay an enormous utility bill to Meralco! We've learned from the Australian's technologies as well, combined with American's, Chinese and Filipinos as well.

Let us know your plans and we will be glad to meet you.
Sincerely,
Pinaymentor