Renewal of single permit or long-term residency (D/L) card?

Hey folks,

I'm in a bit of a conundrum.

Currently, I've got my resident + WP valid till July, 2022. This would be my fourth year of working in Belgium. Additionally, I have a Master's degree from the VUB (2 year master).

Do I:
1) Ask my employer to apply for renewal of my WP ?
2) Ask the commune for a D card?

Additionally, for point 2: do I need to submit the "individual rekeningen" or can I submit all my payslips instead? The reason I ask this is because I am yet to receive my individual rekeningen for 2021. And this won't happen before end of February, as my HR told me.

However, I didn't want to wait till March to apply for the D card since it takes ~5 months and I don't want to risk my existing permit expiring before I get the D card.

Additionally, once applied for D card, is there any sort of Annex or document the commune gives as proof of application?

Hello,

you don't need to ask your employer for a new WP as you'll get unlimited access with your new resident permit for your 4th year of stay.
No, you can't ask for the D card yet, as you've to wait for the 5th year of stay.

Your individual rekeningen is useless, as it's only a document from your company to fill in the yearly taxes.
Your yearly tax bill is what they'll expect to receive, you can download them all online on https://eservices.minfin.fgov.be/myminfin-web/pages
Adding your payslips is just an "extra", as well as your contract.

As long as there's a renewal process ongoing, you'll not have any gap in your stay.
You'll receive a document to allow you to stay in Belgium during the process.
And yes, the commune has to give you a specif annex to allow you to proof that you're currently under a process of renewal + upgrade.
Many communes doesn't do, but the law states that they're force to give you that document.