Does family reunification stops if I loose my job?

Hello everyone!

First, thank you all for all the information on this website, it's being extremely valuable for my wife and I. We are in a curious situation right now (a bit scared) and we would like to know more.

I'm italian, my wife is mexican and we came to Belgium because I had a job offer. We applied for the family reunification and we've been waiting for the answer for the last 4 months (2 more to go). The thing is that the company I am working for is about to go bankrupcy and is matter of time for me to loose my job. Will that affect the family reunification process for my wife?

At the same time, I am trying to look for other opportunities but is not easy. I am exploring the possibility of going freelance (I am a graphic designer). Will that affect the family reunification process too?

Thank you very much in advance :)

This is a good question. I LL like to hear the responses too.

Also how does immigration verify if the guarantor is out of job when the reunification visa application is already submitted? 
Do they ask again to submit recent salary slips later?

I don't think you should worry about them checking your application. What usually happens is that the city verify these documents when you submit. Usually the immigration do not directly verify when no issues have been raised by the municipality. Further, since you are an EU national they usually just tick off that you have all the documents. The focus is on non-EU nationals making family reunion requests. After 6 months the card must be issued if there is no decision was made. So by default it is issued. This is my experience with my family procedure a few years ago with a Belgian partner.  ​I also wouldn't report or mention this to the municipality. They would let you know if there is a problem. Good luck finding a job. That should be a priority ASAP. Let the community know the outcome or if there indeed issues.