Texan moving to Beijing

Greetings everyone,

Born and raised texan moving to beijing for fiance's new job in October. I am very excited but have a lot of questions about finding a job, how to best search for an apartment, and banking over there.
I have read that the Chaoyang disrict is "expat central"? I am hoping to live as westernized as is possible.
I would prefer to find a job in a theatre. Currently I am a theatre technician working at a University. I found the Beijing Playhouse which caters to expats and produces "western" plays. Are there any others that anyone knows about?
Can I keep my american bank account? Do I need to open a chinese bank account?

Any thoughts on these issues would be greatly appreciated.
Sorry for all the questions in my new member introduction. I will also post these questions in their respective categories.

Thanks

I'm no expert, but I think that the options for 'western' plays and theater gigs is going to be pretty limited. The Beijing playhouse is the only thing I know of.

You should keep your bank account in the states. Most things operate on cash here, so you probably won't need a Chinese bank account at first. Once you find employment it's probably best to open a bank account with whichever one your employer uses.

ChaoYang district is the place to live if you're looking to connect with young professional type foreigners. If you're looking for connections with families and kids then Shunyi is the place to be (out towards the airport). That being said, ChaoYang district is big, and there are some areas that are more expat friendly than others.

Do you have any idea where your fiance's office will be? That might be helpful in determining which area to live? Also do you have any idea about what your budget might be?

My wife and I write a blog about life in Beijing, and we have a bunch of additional resources there regarding moving to Beijing and transitioning into life here: www.themiddlekingdom.org.