Paying US taxes as a resident in Germany

Hello,

I am a permanent resident of Germany and am trying to do my US taxes for the first time.  I am technically self-employed as a teacher, but work only for the Volkshochschule here.  I read that if I declare my taxes as being self-employed, I would need to pay self-employment taxes and need to get a Certificate of Coverage from the German Spitzenverband here to avoid doing so (I am paying both Rente and Krankenversicherung here).  However, I am having a hard time finding out where to obtain this.  The office suggested on the IRS website does not respond to calls.  Do I need this or can I go ahead and either file as being employed by the VHS or file as being self-employed and then hope that I am not asked to pay self-employment tax?  Also, since this is my first time filing, what forms do i need apart from the 1040?  Any help would be much appreciated.

I think questions about USA taxes are better placed on the USA forum - or is the issue in any way Germany-specific?

I have extensively covered the tax situation for US citizens in Germany on various threads. As you live and work in Germany you of course have to file and pay German taxes. Normally one has to have various clients to be self-employed but maybe there is an exception as a teacher working for the VHS? You should be likely taxed as self-employed in Germany – and cannot expect this to be seen different from the American tax authorities.

You need to file American tax returns but by taking either the Foreigner Earned Income Exclusion or Foreign Tax Credits should eliminate any federal income tax obligation. What is left is Social Security which will be applied by the IRS as a self-employer person. If you are an employee in Germany, then a German company is not withholding and paying half of your American SS contributions so EVERY American overseas in effect is seen as self-employed.