Looking for accommodation in Amsterdam

Dear All,
I am saba khan from Pakistan. I will be moving to Netherlands in June for my Phd at VU university and looking for reasonable accommodation. It is quite difficult to find it so I thought may be it would be of some help to post it here.

many thanks.

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

I'd try contacting DUWO; this link will take you straight to their website.

Hope this helps.

Cynic
Expat Team

thanks a lot

Hi Saba,

I found this site helpful when I was moving to the Netherlands two years ago:

https://kamernet.nl/

It mostly looks for smaller places or rooms. Hope it helps :)

I found some time ago a place where more expats are renting a room in a building.
Unfortunately I can't find the website anymore. You can try a search expats apartment amsterdam:

Expat rental amsterdam

Or google : Expats apartment Amsterdam

Hey Cynic,

I am wondering if you could give me any advice on my case.
I am a second-year master student at VU Amsterdam, and I am looking for accommodation for September. I finished the first year online from my home country and now it's time to move. The university is not going to help me, because it provides accommodation only for first-year students. This is the same thing I have noticed in room.nl, they rent just for first-year students.
I have a part-time job, being paid 1200 euros. This would allow me to spend on rent a maximum of 700 euros. I know there are some subsidies for rent from the government, but they have a really low limit for renting a studio (e.g. around 450 euros if you are younger than 23, which is the case). You cannot possibly find any studio for such a low price.
I thought it will be a good idea to find rent with two other classmates. Unfortunately, websites such as Pararius and Funda don't rent for students and not for more than 2 sharers. I don't really know how to find something affordable taking into account everything above.

Hi and welcome to the Forum.