Qualified IT professional. Learning Dutch

I'm an IT Professional with more than 20 years of experience. I am slowly learning Dutch, but would like to move permanently with my wife to The Netherlands. My only problem is that I am not fluent in Dutch. How can I get a job while at the same time learn Dutch and become a Dutch Citizen?
My Aunt is already living in Amsterdam as an EU citizen.
We do not wish to live with her.
Thank you in advance to all replies.

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

What nationality are you and your wife, what passports do you hold?

Cynic
Expat Team

We are both US citizens with US passports.

Hi again and thanks for the update.

I asked the question as I was hoping you or your wife may have an EU passport - you don't, but that's not the end of the world.  I assume you've mentioned your Aunt as you think she could perhaps help in you getting your visa(s) - unfortunately that's not the case, family sponsors are limited to husband/wife/kids; which is useful as you don't then have to live with her.

You will need to apply for work/family visas in your own right and while US citizens are exempt the language exam requirement of MVV (the Dutch joint entry and work visa), you will still be assessed on what the Dutch governments interpretation of your job prospects, you say you're an IT professional, whether the Dutch need people with your skill set is another matter.

There is a way around that assessment, that being if you or your wife can get a highly skilled migrant visa (HSM), then the other accompany on a sponsored family visa.  The
HSM has 2 basic requirements, it must be for a skill that is in short supply in the Netherlands and they have to pay you over a certain salary level - you can read all about them on the Dutch Government website; this link will take you straight there.  It's nothing unusual to do it in this way, there are many people working in the Netherlands HSM visas.