Move from UK for NHR tax benefits - what can I expect?

Hi all - I'm a digital contractor and freelancer and am quite capable of working remotely. After learning about the NHR tax benefits of living in portugal (no income tax for 10 years) I've been considering the move. But after doing some initial research I've come across a lot of disheartening articles regarding loneliness and teething problems. I know it's easy to romanticise such a move so I was hoping someone on here could share their story and let me know what I'm possibly in for.

Thanks!

Loneliness:
-----------------

Anyone can find this unpleasant emotional feeling everywhere, including in his own country, city or street where he lives. Even in the marriage/other relationship or within his daily working colleagues circle. That depends only on by ourselves and the way we try to overcome that.

Surely you have read a lot of positive and negative posts in that topic started in 2015 and remains until now, "Expat loneliness - Does it get any better?". Anyone can reply to that, detailing a lot of good or terrible things about each country, .... USA, UK, Portugal, or whatever.  It all depends on each one's experiences, people they have met, day-to-day events or people who had a positive or negative influence on us in working places, relationships, friendships... This changes the perception of our reality and how we influence others.

There are posts that make me laugh. They speak as if Portugal were not an culturally-developed european country. As if in winter season, it rains much more there than anywhere where they have been to. They speak as if there is one national personality profile... There are many cluster of personalities, not only in big countries like USA but also in smaller ones. Eg. USA, in Ohio and Minnesota people are different from those in California and Arizona.

https://www.apa.org/news/press/releases … sonalities