Employment and new work practices in Italy

Hello everyone,

In diverse sectors, employment in Italy has been tremendously affected by the current crisis.
We invite you to share your experience on these changes in the professional world in Italy.

Did new work practices emerge over the last few months?

Is working from home becoming the new normal or is it still marginal?

What about recruitment in companies located in Italy?

Were there new laws passed regarding work? If so, what were the consequences on the labour market?

Finally, what is your personal experience on that matter and on your own job specifically?

Thank you for your contribution!

Cheryl
Expat.com team

I would like to share my experience, after Covid-19, my work is badly affected.
I work in IT sector. My employer said me to sit at home from 11th March due to locked down imposed in Italy. Later this extended until May. But when May arrived, they again extended this until July.
Although some amount of salary was paid under the law "Cassa Integrazione" which was paid by the government. I appreciate and thankful to the Italian government who took care of salaried employees and business man to pay the least basic money to survive in this pandemic time.

So I got half salary from march to July without doing any work, although I have asked to study new technologies and brush up existing ones, to remain updated for future projects.
In this period of time, they conducted my interview 2-3 times with the clients as I was supposed to work at client site. Clients were Ok with my skills, but they wanted me to move Milan which was badly affected by Covid-19, so they put me on hold, and I could not be the part of project. and I lost it. Thit happened multiple times, and I am still sitting ideal, with no work at all.