What's the culture around dating ?

Hi !

I've been talking to a Vietnamese girl for just shy of 2 years and we met for the first time 1.5 years ago. We're very serious and have been discussing marriage.  She's a pharmacy student living at home.

What's the cultural norm for helping out her out financially here ?  Is it normal to help her? Expected at this stage of our relationship ?

Tough question and only you can answer that.  Based on your other post of not moving here for 4-5 years I think your discussion may be a bit premature.  A lot can happen in that long of a time span.

Paying support is a fairly normal thing if you are in a committed relationship.  It always begs a couple of questions, though.

How did you meet her?  Online or introduction?
You visited the first time 1.5 years ago.  How many times since?
Why the delay of not coming for 4-5 years? 
What do you plan to have to make a long term commitment to someone you won't be "with" for that long?
What is the age gap between you and her?

Last one isn't a loaded question.  I'm 23 years older than my wife.  It goes to motive.

SteinNebraska wrote:

Paying support is a fairly normal thing if you are in a committed relationship.  It always begs a couple of questions, though.

good to hear. thank you for answering

SteinNebraska wrote:

How did you meet her?  Online or introduction?

SteinNebraska wrote:

You visited the first time 1.5 years ago.  How many times since?

I'm here for a month now, and it's the fifth time I'm seeing her. The cadence is around 3 months between visits.

SteinNebraska wrote:

What do you plan to have to make a long term commitment to someone you won't be "with" for that long?

I'll bring her to America first (K1 visa). I have some commitments I can't get out of until that time, and she wants to live here which is fine by me since my money will last me longer here.

SteinNebraska wrote:

What is the age gap between you and her?