Work Permit - Type A

Hello,

I've been in Belgium for more than 4 years (4 Work Permit - Type B, 2 Single Permit so far). I would like to know if I'm eligible to apply for Work Permit - Type A.

I've searched the forums and all links say that the rule has changed since the single permit has been introduced. So would like to know if I can apply for WP - Type A.

My current Single Permit is valid for 3 years but is tied to my employer. Any leads would be of great help.

Thank you very much.

if you've been working for at least 4 years in Belgium with a WP B (requested by your employer, NOT you), you're eligible to request an unlimited work permit.

By the way, after 5 years of stay, you can request to be a permanent resident (D card), so no more work permit...

I've been working for 4+ years in Belgium with WP Type - B requested by my employer.

I've 8 more months to complete 5 Years in Belgium (from Date I've received my first Resident Permit). Would it be a good idea that I apply for Unlimited Work Permit now and Permanent Resident card after 8 - 10 months ?

The reason is I'm planning to switch my employer in few months. So having an unlimited WP would help.

Also, does the Unlimited Work Permit has any specific validity ? And will it affect the Single Permit of my wife who's also working ?

Administration is always a pain.
So, it's up to you! I was just saying that everything will be easier when you'll request your D card.

Nothing will ever change for your wife.
Administration will always see you as 2 separated cases, unless you became EU citizen (dual nationality)
You'll have an advantage, not her. Now, her right to stay in Belgium will probably goes a bit more smoothlier if she's not working, as you'll be a permanent resident soon.
Everything is fine for her, as long as you're working (if she's not) as she's probably in your care.

Thank you for the info AlexFromBelgium !