EU Family Visa Accepted Apr '19 - no EU Resi Card after 9 months

Good morning all,

It's my first time posting here & hoped i wouldn't need to but i've grown very frustrated with the IND.

I am a UK citizen who lives and works in the Netherlands. I brought my wife here In January 2019. My wife is from the UAE so Non-EU.

We applied for form 5005 'eu family reunification' in February 2019. This was accepted and confirmed by a letter from the IND in April 2019.

We were told on the letter we would receive a letter when we could collect the EU residence card.

We have never received either. I have called every single week, the IND have repeated the same excuse. "There is a problem with the external company manufacturing the card". They give nothing in writing, no resolvement date or anything.

This has now been nearly 9 months since we got the application accepted. This card is the crucuial for work and travel, especially as a non-EU citizen.

I have been in contact with SOLVIT for the last 5 months but they rarely email and just seem to repeat the same information the IND are giving.

I refuse to believe the simple task of generating an ID card can have already taken 9 months and with no end date in sight. It really is an important document for us.
Apparently it is a problem generating cards for 'certain' (arabic) nationalities. Not sure how it can be any more difficult than Others.

My question is, can i seek legal assistance? How do i push this forward? Is this normal?
I get the feeling this could drag on for years. It's already been nearly a year. This is literally just producing an ID card, It's really not difficult no matter how much the IND want to make it look this way.

Thanks in advance

Oliver

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

You're the first person who's mentioned this, so, unfortunately, I have no further empirical information I can provide.