JOB OFFER IN JEDDAH! PLEASE HELP ME OUT, IM RUNNING OUT OF TIME!

Hi Everyone,

So I received an offer from a local advertising agency in Jeddah. They are offering 17K SAR for leading their communications department. Now I have 9 years of experience in the advertising field working for multinational agencies. Im married and have a 1 year old kid. We would probably prefer to live in a compound too as we have friends who strongly advised us to do so.

Now the question is:
1- Is this salary any good to live a good life in Jeddah?
2- Would I be able to save any sort of money after paying all the necessary costs?

I really appreciate your help.

Thanks

Well cost of living in a compound is very high, it will be around 60,000 to 125,000 per year rent, you will be paying 400 SAR per month per person as depend fee means in your case (Wife+Kid) SAR 800. if your kid is school going add 2,500 per month as an expense. Above mentioned expenses are the major cost rest of the things you will be find it normal. Now its your calculation how spend the money.
If you are not moving to compound then rent will be 30,000 per year in a good area.

Thanks a lot man, much appreciated! So assuming it's 70,000 for a compound flat, that's 5.8K per month which leave me an additional 11K.

I do not think you would need a compund as Saudi Arabia is a safe place.

People don't really choose a compound for safety; that is done for freedom re: lifestyle :).

XTang, you are absolutely correct and that is exactly why we are choosing to live in a compound! Now the offer has jumped up to 18K, what do you guys think? Is it a good salary? Will I be able to live in a compound and also maintain a good life. Will I be able to save any sort of money? I really appreciate your help guys! Thanks a million

Honestly, from my standpoint, it is on the low side considering you want to live in a compound and then obviously would want to send your kid to a good school at a later stage.