Self Employment

Hello, is there anyone who had worked as a freelancer in their own country before moving to Brussels and is still working as a freelancer now in Brussels?
Many, I guess. How did the transition happened?

I'm an italian freelancer currently working in Italy with my Partita Iva (VAT number) in the language services domain (teaching, interpretation etc.)

As soon as it'll be all settled in Brussels, I'll need to register at "la commune" and start working with belgian clients/schools.

So my question is: is it possible to keep my Italian fiscal position (partita Iva) and therefore keep paying taxes in Italy or do I need to close my italian VAT number and fiscal position before leaving and then register as a belgian freelancer with the appropriate belgian fiscal position, thus paying taxes in Belgium?

Thank you in advance to those who can share their experience and help me out! :)

N

It depends who'll be your "employer": I mean your own company in Italia that send you "on a mission in Belgian" or a Belgian company that you create here...

You should probably talk with an accountant to optimize tax and to know what you can do and what you can't!

Numinous wrote:

Hello, is there anyone who had worked as a freelancer in their own country before moving to Brussels and is still working as a freelancer now in Brussels?

I'm an italian freelancer currently working in Italy with my Partita Iva (VAT number) in the language services domain (teaching, interpretation etc.)

As soon as it'll be all settled in Brussels, I'll need to register at "la commune" and start working with belgian clients/schools.

So my question is: is it possible to keep my Italian fiscal position (partita Iva) and therefore keep paying taxes in Italy or do I need to close my italian VAT number and fiscal position before leaving and then register as a belgian freelancer with the appropriate belgian fiscal position, thus paying taxes in Belgium?