Working Remotely in the Netherlands for a USA based company?

Hi! I am trying to figure out which permit I need to apply for. I have a Bachelor of Fine Arts with a specialty in Graphic Design and want to move to the Netherlands. My work will most likely let me work remotely but I am unsure what type of visa that would be? It is a USA based company with no international branches. Should I / am I an employee, independent contractor, or freelancer? I am a bit confused.

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

This won't be easy; basically the Dutch taxman is going to get bent up about it.  You pay taxes on your worldwide income, based on where you are regarded as being resident, not where the person who writes your paycheque lives.  There are all sorts of compulsory payments that have to be paid to the Dutch Government (adds up to about 52% of your income), plus whatever the US takes for federal and state taxes - yes, Uncle Sam still likes to know what you're up to and you have to file Federal and State tax returns for as long as you are a US citizen, regardless of where you live.  In addition to which, there are compulsory payments for local Health Insurance and Holiday pay.

So how can you do it; you can set up your own business, you'll need a visa to do it, it's called a "Start-Up visa; this link will take you to the bit of the Dutch Government department (IND) that has the details.  Basically, you get a 12-month temporary visa in which to set up your business, after that time, you will be assessed and if you've met the criteria, it gets extended and so on.  The link has the full list of things you have to comply with.