Residence Permit Sweden

Greetings everyone from near and far!

Note: Feel free to share your experiences here as well, I'd love to read them.

I'm Gilly, from Jamaica. Let me give you a background story. In Feb 2018 I met my girlfriend (Swedish) while I was working as the Manager of a hostel here (temporary job, I'm a translator/dj/music producer)  and while she was here with her friend for vacation. I had no intention or thought of ever falling for someone at my work place, but then we met, spoke and that all fell out the window. I fell for her and she fell for me.

Now we've been together for 1 year and 3 months to date. She traveled to visit me last year in July 2018 and I traveled to meet her in April 2019 (First time ever going to Europe). She has met my family and I met hers, we get along famously.

We decided that we wanted to live together in Sweden, so I applied for Residence Permit to live with someone in April. Then got an e-mail notifying to make an appointment to the Swedish Embassy for an interview. Since Jamaica doesn't have a Swedish Embassy, only a Consulate, I made my appointment in Colombia, after a cancelled flight due to Hurricane Dorian, I finally was able to make it to the interview on the 25th of September, 2019.

During the interview, I signed a power of attorney allowing my girlfriend to get the decision at her address. The interviewer also said that it may take up to a year to get a decision, but she was very helpful saying that signing the power of attorney would prevent an additional 2 month delay of the decision since they would have to send the papers to Colombia and then to Jamaica.

I really hope I can get a decision soon, so that i can be with my girlfriend. I miss her very much. (I plan to ask her to marry me the next time we see each other in person)

Is there any way to get a status or to help propel the process in the right direction?

All comments and help is appreciated.

Big up and Nuff Luv!

Welcome to the Forum :)