Income tax implications for Canadians moving to Portugal

Hi,

I am new to this forum.  Planning to retire in about 10 years.  I am wondering what the tax implications are to moving to Portugal? I read that there is no income tax for 10 years in Portugal, but do you still have to pay your Canadian taxes in full?

I would let go of my rental unit and have no dependents*

This information could impact how much longer I have to work!

Any feeback is appreciated!
Marie-Josée

Hi Marie,
I hope this helps. This is a treaty between Canada and Portugal made in 2001. No, i'm not a tax expert and we are planing to move to Portugal too. Couple of questions though, are you planing to work, run a business or just retiring in Portugal? Any of these situations might effect your taxes.

Have fun reading.

IV. Methods for Prevention of Double Taxation
Article 22
Elimination of Double Taxation
1. In the case of Canada, double taxation shall be avoided as follows:

(a) subject to the existing provisions of the law of Canada regarding the deduction from tax payable in Canada of tax paid in a territory outside Canada and to any subsequent modification of those provisions -- which shall not affect the general principle hereof -- and unless a greater deduction or relief is provided under the laws of Canada, tax payable in Portugal on profits, income or gains arising in Portugal shall be deducted from any Canadian tax payable in respect of such profits, income or gains;

(b) where in accordance with any provision of the Convention income derived by a resident of Canada is exempt from tax in Canada, Canada may nevertheless, in calculating the amount of tax on other income, take into account the exempted income.

2. In the case of Portugal, double taxation shall be avoided as follows: