New to HCMC

Hello I'm Cam I Come from Canada, I need Help because I just got here and would like some insights on how everything works. I'm a Credit manager back in Canada and Just finished my TEFL Cert. I have no experience teaching English so I'm very concerned on getting a teaching position here in Vietnam.

Any advise would be helpful

Thanks !!

Finding an English teaching position is just like any other job. You need to contact potential employers and apply with your CV/resume, which doesn't need to be to fancy but should have a professional-looking photo.

You can send e-mails to schools that are looking and maybe post your CV/resume here (scroll down for the jobs):
https://vietnamteachingjobs.com

Otherwise, dress up a bit and knock on doors with some hard copies of your CV. Almost every school has a website/facebook page where you can get names and addresses. Just search for 'english school hcmc'. Lots of expats/teachers groups on FB, too. Basically, network, find some English teachers (go to bars), get some leads.

Most of the work is teaching kids and teens, or IELTS test prep. There will be some demand for p/t teachers in public schools when the school years starts.

Finally, with your background as a credit manager, If you can get some teaching experience and also look into how to create a course (needs analysis, placement/level testing, content selection, syllabus creation, scheduling, assessment and evaluation, etc.), maybe you can land some corporate classes in the banking/finance/business sector.

What hometown city is your wife from?  If she is from a smaller city, you might consider looking there, as schools there may have fewer native speakers available and be more willing to consider teachers who do not meet all work permit requirements.