Public Kindergartens in Auderghem

Hi all, I am a newbie here, so pls bear with me.

Well, we, a family of 3, are to move to Brussels next September. We are looking for a kindergarten for our soon to be 4 yo child. We have the option to go to European School, but we would also like to explore public kindergartens. We have heard by word of mouth that the school system is excellent in Belgium. It will be an excellent opportunity for our little one to learn French.

The problem is that we can not find an online list with the kindergartens in Auderghem.

What do you think of public schools in Belgium? Do you have any experience?

Kindergarten is German. What language are you seeking? What street do you live on?

For French.

https://guide-ecoles.be/

Currylover wrote:

Kindergarten is German.

Yes it is but its used all over the world. America, UK, Canada etc...

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

Brussels is bi-lingual; so I guess you could find both Dutch and French schools; the Dutch word for a Kindergarten is "kleuterschool"; the French word is "jardin d'enfants"; I'm pretty sure that most will know what you mean by Kindergarten.

I've just had a look for myself and can't find any in the area and am wondering if they have been absorbed into the basisschool's.  The link that Currylover provided does list some creche facilities in the area, but whether that's educational I have no idea; certainly, when our kids were of that age, they were more babysitting types of places; perhaps some further research is needed.

Hope this helps.

Cynic
Expat Team

The expression "jardin d'enfants" is certainly not used in the French public system in Brussels. It's an ecole maternelle.

I believe Cynic is not in Belgium given the incorrect information given.

Auderghem has kleuterescholen!

There are no vacancies however.

The link I posted covers ALL French public French schools in Brussels, from age 2.5 to 18. It covers NO CRECHES as creches go to age 3.