Plotting our escape to Ireland

Hello- we are a family of 5 with two cats and have always wanted to get out of the USA. We are no strangers to traveling- we've moved over 60 times in the past 15 years- but it's always been within the same country.

We talked it over and decided that enough was enough- it was time to set a deadline and get out of here.

While we liked a lot of areas of Europe, Northern Ireland just kind of felt right.

We've given ourself a year to get out of here (and with three kids and the cats we know we will use every single moment.)

I'd appreciate any tips. I'm a farm girl at heart, my husband is a city guy, and my kids are just adventurous.

Here is what I do know so far:
- My husband is a specialized network engineer whose skill set is on the Critical Skills list.
-I'm a recipe developer and cookbook author, but I'm not exactly going to try to look for a job right away. I'm mostly just content to dabble in the kitchen and play with my food.
-The oldest kid will probably be in his last year of school, we may just homeschool him if possible.
-The middle kid will definitely be heading to school.
-The youngest kid may still be too small for school.
-I'm not leaving the cats. They are registered emotional support animals.
-We are equally fond of extroverted stuff as we are introverted stuff.
-We love awful weather. We absolutely abhorred living in Florida and Texas- it was too hot, too humid, too sunshiney for too long out of the year.

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

First I'd recommend you read our Northern Ireland Guide (top left-hand corner is a link to our "Discover" section, mouse over that and you get a drop down menu - it's in there).