Looking for work in Chengdu ( MBA in Hospitality Management)

Hi Everyone !

My name is Raphael , i am coming from Belgium and i have a Bachelor and a MBA in Hospitality Management. I can speak some Chinese and i would really love to go to Chengdu and pursue my career in Hospitality there.

I don't really know where to look for jobs, it seems that the only positions in Chengdu for foreigners is English Teaching... Unfortunately even if i wanted to , i cannot since i am not a Native Speaker.

Do you think i have chance to find a position in Hotels/events management in Chengdu ? i would appreciate if you heard or know anyone that might be interested in hiring foreigners .

Thank you for your help !

Hon, that is a tough sell.

I came to China 15 years ago with over 30 years experience in manufacturing and design engineering. I located myself in the middle of one of the largest manufacturing areas, and even then, I couldn't find work in my field. So out of necessity, I started teaching. Then while I taught, I looked for work. It took me a while, but after three years, I was finally able to obtain something in my field.

China is NOT just another nation on the map.

It is large, enormous, huge nation filled with hard-working nerds. Everyone is aggressively trying to outdo everyone else. The pace of life in the big cites will be enough to make your head spin. If you want to come to China that expect to hustle, do the hard and difficult work, and sacrifice.

For most of my first four years in China, I worked 12 hour days on Saturday and Sunday with no lunch and only a ten minute break (pee run) on the top of the hour. Then I came home. Ate, and looked for work in my field. If you are not willing to do the same, then I suggest you not bother trying.

That being said, China is a most excellent place if you are not afraid of hard work, learning new cultures and language and adapting to a new pace of life. China will change you, and it will be for the better.