Looking for English Teaching Job

I am a certified CTESOL English Instructor moving to Malaysia this coming October 2011. I am a native English speaker from San Francisco, Ca. USA and I am real excited about the opportunity to work with students in Malaysia. I am looking for work in Kuala Lumpur and I am willing to commute as far as Putrajaya. I have my own residence and transportation, all I'm looking for is employment. Thank you.

Hi d.carroll,

Welcome to Expat-blog! :)

I wish you good luck in you job search.

Christine

Thank you and remember, "In life and in love, there are a limitless amount of possibilities."

Wishing you goodluck in your quest

Maybe you can check out the International schools here. Since you are from USA, ISKL and MKIS runs American system. However, you should check out the Taipei International School, whereby they are in need of good quality English teacher.

Other than a few international schools (providing you have the proper home-country credentials) your best bet is going to be a language academy. 

ELS runs schools all over the country and I remember a training place in KL that you might get TEFL training work at...but Malaysians don't hire expats to work in their government schools.

There is however, a mentor program, for primary schools that is currently in operation.  Three companies have contracts with the MoE to train local teachers in effective primary education TEFL methods.

If you have young learner experience and training experience (though not required) you might check into it.  I do know that there are NO KL-area positions available, at this time.