Importing a pickup truck with my move to Ecuador

I am considering a move to Ecuador. I would like to bring my 2017 Chevrolet Colorado pickup truck just for personal use. (25,000 miles). I am also an amateur wood worker and would like to bring my table saw and other woodworking tools with me.

I have seen sites that tell me I cannot bring my truck, and that I can. Can anyone clear the confusion.

Also do I need to worry about my woodworking tools? I do not intend on using them to make a living, Judy hobby work.

Importing household goods, and hobby related items like Your wood shop tools and equipment is no problem.

Currently To bring in a vehicle you need to be a returning Ecuadorian Citizen that has lived abroad for 5 years. The vehicle needs to be under $20,000. MSRP , Engine no bigger than 2.5Ltr. and brand spanking new with less than 50km's on the odometer.
~All the Very Best on Your Endeavors in Ecuador~
Relocation Ecuador: JourneymanJack.com/

Thanks for your response. I guess I”lol have sell the truck, if i'm Going to relocate to Ecuador

I think that Chevy is the market leader for vehicles in Ecuador, I feel like almost half the vehicles on the road are Chevrolets. The model names are different here, I think D-Max is the main Chevy pickup.

Once you have a permanent residence visa which takes 2 years, you can import a new or one year old car or truck. You do NOT have to be an Ecuadorian citizen. This regulation has not changed in 8 years. I had planned on bringing a 2011 Prius when I came in 2012 and the shipping cost and import duty would have been about equal to the value. Your tools are no problem.

Rockysroad wrote:

This regulation has not changed in 8 years.

Would you please cite that regulation and link to it on the internet?

You should be able to find it in: Aduana de Ecuador. https://www.bing.com/search?q=aduana%20 … =CT3210127

This is from the Aduana de Ecuador website: