Tax Resident last year, going to resign this year before 182 days

Hi All,

Need your advices here, I am a tax resident last year in 2018.

In this year, I went out for 10 days. I will be resigning before my 182 days this year.
I heard that I will be getting 28% tax flat rate from January-June salary which amounted to around 9000RM and I won't be getting the money back.

My new job will be in Singapore and need to start on July 1st.

Is this true? Is there anything I can do to get back the money?

Please kindly advise.

Thank you.

It is possible to link 2018 to 2019 dependent on when the absence(s) took place. Your tax office can advise whether you qualify.

Thanks for the reply Gravitas.

My situation is like this:
1) 2-9 Feb I traveled to Singapore, technically this is 6 days
2) 23-28 April I traveled to Vietnam, this is 4 days

So for this year, I went out from KL for 10 days in total.

For the last year, I served 182 days as I am in KL for the whole year 2018.

Could you elaborate what do u mean by "link 2018 to 2019 dependent on when the absence(s) took place."? So that I can have a better understanding when talking with the tax office.

So I have calculated that I need to stay till 12th July in order to qualify for 182 days.

But my new job will be starting in July 1st. If I leave before that, the total 28% tax would be amounted to around 10k. It's painful.

The shorter period (2019) has to be linked to a period of 182 consecutive days (potentially with max 14 days holiday allowable during that 182 +14 days? )

Example 5 is said to explain but it is a complicated area of tax which is why I suggest you talk to a tax officer

http://lampiran1.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/PR_11_2017.pdf

You don't say who told you there would be 28% tax for 2019.

I found out from 2 of my foreigner friends which they have high tax knowledge about LOL

----------

Thanks for the links! Indeed it's very complicated but I think it's similar to my case.