Looking to move to S.Korea!

Hi everyone,

I'm new to expat.com and I was hoping to meet some people with first hand experience living and working in S.Korea.

My wife and I are looking to leave our Senior Management roles in 1 of Canada's major FI's to start a new life of adventure, preferably in Korea. From what I've been reading it is very difficult to obtain a decent paying office job in any industry without a BA. Is this in fact the truth? My wife has degrees and work experience so obtaining a job would be less of a challenge for her than it would pose for me.

I started to work in the bank almost immediately out of high school. Over the years I have been able to move up within the organization to where I am now, mid-senior level people manager.

My question is this; Without a degree would my work experience/achievements matter when applying to office roles (ideally in finance sector). Also, I do not speak Korean whatsoever and i know this would also be a factor. Are there Expat companies/multinational orgs seeking professional English speakers?

thanks in advance!

No degree no job. In Korea graduation rates are very high c70%. Thjs is a country where school friends will disown anyone without a degree and your social and work standing depends on which uni you went to.

Expats need a degree for visas.

Hey Wayne,

I'm in a similar situation as you. Born in Toronto and worked in banking and moved my way up to management level. Basically I dropped out of university after 3 years.  Looking to relocate to Korea. But I'm sure you can find a job teach english without a degree. I'm not 100% sure on that. I'm of Korean heritage so don't know if its easier for me

E2 visas (foreigners teaching English) require a degree.

Well I wouldn't be an e2 visa. I could easily get permanent residency. My wife is korean

I meant the OP who you were answering.