Visa applications

Hi all

I am new to this so please excuse my niavity but can anyone let me know,if i were to purchase a holiday   home in Florida is there anyway to extend the 90 day rule to 180 days on a regular yearly basis,obviously i would like to stay during the UK winter months,have read info on B2 visa but it appears that it literally depends on who you get at immigration as to whether or not he/she will allow you in the USA??

It is always a matter of who decides your case but one needs to understand the criteria. Theoretically, one can get up to 180 days but keep in mind that Americans mostly get a couple of weeks' vacation a year. So anyone taking a long trip they have to wonder why - and how do they finance it? If one has no job then they will suspect one might be looking to illegally work or wonder how one can pay for so much time off.  If one does have a job, then again, how do they get so much time off… Thus one would have to have a situation like being retired or independently wealthy that they can afford not to work, especially if it is not a one time occurrence.  And being successful the first time might not mean it will happen again. Rather than set a precedent that you get further visas for such a time period, it will make the officials more suspicious that one once again wants a long time.

Having property in the States will show that you have a place to stay but also raise suspicion that you are basically trying to live in the States. And the excuse that one wants to avoid the English winters doesn't mean that one needs 180 days. From your post it sounds like you want to live in the States for half of the year which is not the intention of the B2 visa; it's exclusively for tourism. One sees a lot of nonsense on the web about being a digital nomad but it's still working even if one's clients are elsewhere. Such a strategy will not get one around the need for a work visa in the States or in most countries.