Job offer from MNC in Malaysia, need information about visa process

Hi,

I'm a software developer working as a freelancer / independent contractor. I recently went through an interview process for a renowned MNC of the oil & gas industry, as an application developer for their IT team in KL, Malaysia. This process was carried out by a recruiting agency which is based out of UK.

I got the offer letter and am required to send a signed copy along with a passport scan. As i enquired about the visa process, the recruiter told me that I would be required to enter KL, Malaysia on a single entry tourist visa and after arrival I would be required to do a Petronas Medical test and then their agent will collect my passport to start processing a Kemaman work permit. I have been informed that this process will take around 2-3 weeks, during which my passport will not be with me. All expenses will be borne by the company.

I would like to know if this is a standard procedure or are there any things I need to worry about or get more details on?

This sounds a bit dubious because as an Indian national you cannot convert a tourist visa to an employment pass (EP) . The correct process is for the company to submit an application to immigration for what is called Stage 1 clearance. If this is successful then a Visa Approval Letter (VAL) is issued which authorises you to apply to the Malaysian Consulate/HC in Mumbai, Chennai or Delhi for a VISA WITH REFERENCE (VDR) single entry visa. Stage 2 which is stamping the EP in the passport is carried out only after arrival on a VDR.

Apart from the issue of it not being possible to arrive for work in Malaysia as a tourist, what happens in these forms of scams is the company never applies for an EP after arriving and has your passport so you can't leave. After several months and by which time a person is an illegal immigrant, the only way out is to turn yourself in and be deported and banned for 5 years.

O&G is a favourite industry for scams.