About Permesso di Soggiorno

I am a Japanese student in Italy.
I've just got to Italy as a student 3 month ago. And when I arrived here, I needed to go to post office to apply for the Permesso di Soggiorno(PDS). It's been more than 3 months since then and my appointment at QUESTURA is in next month.
However, I need to visit Germany and Netherland for a personal reason, before receiving PSD card. But I've heard once you go out of Italy without having PSD CARD, you cannot re-enter in Italy again. Is it true?
Some people say that there's no problem without having PSD card as long as the NUMBER OF ENTRIES/NUMERO DI INGRESSO/NOMBRE D'ENTREES on my Italian visa is MULT.

But I'm so confused and I don't wanna get rejected when I come back.
Please help me, anyone!

Requirements for immigrants leaving Italy temporarily

Foreigners awaiting renewal of their residence permits can leave and re-enter Italy if they hold:

the receipt issued by Italian Post offices (Poste Italiane S.p.A) certifying the submission of the application for renewal of their residence permit or EC residence permit for long-term residents;
the expired residence permit;
their passport or other equivalent travel document .

The same facilitated procedure is granted to foreigners who have submitted their application for their first residence permits for employment, self-employment, or family reunification, provided that:

they leave and re-enter Italy through any Italian external border crossing point (cicular letter 11th March 2009);

they show their passport or other equivalent travel document, along with the entry visa specifying the reasons of their stay (employment, self-employment, or family reunification ) and the receipt issued by Italian Post offices (Poste Italiane S.p.A.);

Source: poliziadistato

As addition, if you provide these requirements, go by flight and use same port.

Thank you for the reply.