Getting noticed on Naukrigulf

Hi everyone,

I am an App Developer from South Africa. I desperately want to work in Oman. I have over 7 years experience in my field, a BSc degree in Computer Science and I am a very hard working go getter.

I joined Naukrigulf and have applied to over 25 jobs. Still I have not even been looked at by the employers. I just don't know what I'm doing wrong, my profile is 99% complete (I'm not sure where that 1% is missing). It can't be my CV or experience because I'm not even getting any views on my profile.

I was wondering if anyone here might have some advice on getting noticed or maybe just general advice on finding Software jobs in Oman as an expat? I have already posted a job profile for myself here on Expat.com.

Thank you in advance.

Kevin

Hi mrkvanzyl,

All of these job portals are quite useless. Naukri Gulf, Monster, Bayt and a whole of more of such job portals are pure money making businesses.

They contact the registered users and will push hard for them to buy their 'premium' services like 'resume writing', 'resume blasting' and all such gimmicky services.

The hit rate of these services is way too low. And to land a plum job through these portals are next to nil. So please do not pin your hopes on landing a job through these portals.

You should look at the online editions of the daily English newspapers in Oman and be on the lookout for any suitable vacancy ads. As soon as you see one, apply.

Also, do a search for the kind of companies you would want to work for. Go online and apply in their websites under 'careers'. You stand a far better chance of landing a job if you approach an organisation directly than through a job portal, or worse still through any job consultant or headhunter.

Remember, any middleman or third party that is involved in finding a job for you means you are going to get conned and cheated. So be very careful.