Social adjustment moving to the USA

Hi all.

My partner and I are looking at moving to the US from the UK in a couple of years time but wanted to do lots of research first. The one thing you can't find out by researching online is how people found settling in and making friends/meeting new people.

We are a gay couple and I am a teacher. We would be leaving a close family unit behind and wondered how any of you found that too.

I know the question is very vague but any information and experiences you can offer would be much appreciated.

Thanks 😊

Gay peeps in the USA are pretty wild and spirited and frisky. You'll find a pretty hedonistic, no limits lifestyle if you sign on to social media platforms like Grindr or Scruff and commune with the types on there. Making lasting friendships might take a bit more work, but there are social outlets and venues for doing that at least in the more liberal leaning US cities (certain places in the Heartland and Bible Belt - good luck). Most everything is discovered and discoverable via Internet these days (e.g. community gardening clubs, social justice events, LGBT get togethers) like on Facebook or Meetup. But on the whole, I think you'll find American gays to be an accepting, progressive, and active bunch with which to congregate.

I think you are right, it can be hard to figure out how welcoming a community will be. The stereotype is that Americans are pretty friendly - the issue tends to be a frustration with follow through. Everyone will invite you out to coffee, but it's unclear how many will follow through. This has been challenging for many people I know in large and small cities in the US coming from overseas.