MM2H vs Labuan for a Freelancer

Hello Friends!

I am a freelancer from India (age under 50) and I have a few clients in Asia Pacific region. I would like to work from Malaysia for balanced work-timings.   Please note that I don't have any Malaysian client.

Thanks to the forums and ever-helpful Gravitas, I had two options to do so:

1) MM2H
2) Labuan visa

I would like to know which option is better -

MM2H:
Can I work as a freelancer in Malaysia under MM2H, as long as I don't have any Malaysian client? Also, I saw threads that there is a backlog and delay in MM2H applications because of an administrative change. Do you think this will clear up anytime soon?

Labuan Visa:
This may be an alternative to MM2H, but I'm worried about the operating costs every month for setting up a company. What do you think are the minimum cost incurred per month with this setup? Also, is this feasible?

Thanks for your help,
Param

You can check out these sites. They should have the information you need.
www.labuanbusiness.com

and

www.migratemalaysia.com

For the first part...Can you work Free-Lance in Malaysia as long as you don't have Malaysian clients. I'd give a conditional yes. If you are working On-Line or sending work product abroad through the mail. courier or hand-delivering it I'd see no issue.

Obviously if you are buying and selling in Malaysia it will raise concerns. It's probably better to have a foreign bank and business address (as a drop) as well. You could then transfer any money into your local bank account as needed.

You'd be taxed abroad on the business but would probably constitute a Malaysian Tax Resident provided you reside 183 days or more per year in Malaysia.