Moving to Frankfurt Germany

Hello Expats members,

My name is Elisha Hogue, and I am currently living in Chicago IL. My fiancé lives in Frankfurt and I am joining her soon. I do have some concerns in regards to finding work there. I am currently a Project coordinator in the telecommunication industry, and I am trying to find out how to obtain a job there without speaking german. I have applied to many positions there but always get denied. I have a bachelor degree with a concentration of project management, and in the process of obtaining my CAPM certification.

Is there any advice on how to find employment there without being speaking german ?

You have to disadvantages compared to other applicants:
- You are non-EU-citizen.
- And you don't speak German.
Thus you need some major advantages that more than compensates for this in the eyes of an employer. Just being certified project manager is not enough - they are a dime a dozen. Focus on areas where you have unique skills that the employer needs, but cannot find among Europeans.
And at the same time: Start learning German. Even though a beginners' class will not give you the communication skills you need fo working in Germany, it certainly shows the goodwill a potential employer might value.
Good luck!

Thank you very much for the information. It is most certainly helpful!