Lifestyle on limited budget

Hi, long time since I posted and a lot has happened.

I'm an American looking to retire in Medellin or possibly Cali, though I've never been to the latter. I only mention Cali as I believe the cost of living is less and I like warm weather. I'd like to inquire what kind of life I would have living on a small pension of about $2200 monthly. The best I can tell from my visits is that my standard of living would be much lower than it is now.

Not to get into all the gory details, I lost my business and with it, my savings. Hence, I have to rely on my pension. Although I'm a professional and have commanded a good salary, at 67 I find that jobs are much more difficult to come by. I was recently laid off and can't even get an interview. Besides, after over 50 years of working, I'm ready to leave the cold winters here in the northeast and enjoy retired life.

Is a decent apartment in a relatively safe area with enough left over for food, modest entertainment, basic medical (I'm healthy), etc. possible in my circumstances?  The decision I need to make is whether to struggle to look for work so I can replenish my savings somewhat or take the plunge and retire.

Thanks.

You will have no problem with that if you have discipline. Limited travel as well.

Cali is definitely  not a safe city. And Medellin not so much either.

At today's exchange rate $2200 USD is almost 7 million COP.  Very few Colombians earn that much - you can have a good lifestyle in Medellín and cheaper surrounding areas, and even more so in Cali and its surrounding areas like Jamundí to the south which is just as hot but much smaller and still close, and Dapa to the northwest which is higher and cooler and still close, within 20 minutes or so from Cali.

Use this salary tool to see the range and average of self-reported salaries are in Colombia (although there is the option to change the language to English it does not seem to work when you do that):