Newbie from California

Howdy!

If you hadn't guessed I am a newbie. I had to look up the word "expat" to figure out that I am not yet., Well, not living in Hungary, that is, however since I was born in South Africa I may be one after all. Anyway, it should be clear that I am not the person you want to consult with any brain teasers so no questions regarding the Tsiolkovsky rocket equation please.

Now that I have firmly established myself in the group to be avoided I will plead my case. My last time in Hungary was this past July. I had rented a motorcycle in Munich and rode to Hungary to meet a cousin and a friend. Unfortunately, I didn't spend as much time as I would have liked to ride in Hungary as I had to meet 20+ other riders in Austria to spend two weeks riding the Alps, drinking beer, and basically having a good ol' time. Yes, life can sometimes be difficult but so much for my sad story.

Anyway, what I would like to do is to ride around Hungary for several weeks this year but don't want to rent a bike. I was thinking of  either shipping a bike to Hungary or buying one there. However, I see the prices of bikes in Hungary are pretty ridiculous compared to California. So shipping is the next option but I now read that there is a huge bureaucracy that makes that option difficult. I suppose I could buy one in Germany or some other EU country (hence, I would have EUO plates) and just ride it to Hungary. Any suggestions? I was planning on leaving the bike in Hungary for future use.

Other than that it is pouring rain here in SoCal -- after the big fires we are also having mudslides, I trust the weather is warm and sunny in Hungary? :)

Welcome.