Is 2000 Euros enough to live a decent life in Berlin for a couple ?

Hi All,

Greetings!! :)

I work in India with Microsoft and have a offer of around 77000 Euros / year from Berlin based startup. I did the Tax calculations and after all taxes, my Net in hand per month would be around 4200 Euros. I am married and would be moving with my life. I have around 8 years experience in software.

I am planing to save around 2000 Euros per month after all my expenses. I checked on Numbeo, the cost of living for a a couple comes around 1900 Euros.

Just wanted to check , Is my assumption accurate ?  is around 2000 euros good enough for a couple to live ? I don't drink alcohal and do not party much.  Eating out on weekends , Cinema, Gym etc is what I am looking at. I am also a budding Stand up comedian, so would be trying my hand in English comedy as well in Berlin.

There is no yes or no correct answer to your question. What is sure is that this is a well above average income in Germany. How much you save will depend on your lifestyle. But saving that much a month is very ambitious. It depends on your priorities. The biggest monthly expense will undoubtedly be for accommodation. Do you want to live in the smallest possible place in the worse neighborhood  to save money or spend more and live comfortably? There is always a trade-off. Many people calculate their fixed monthly cost and then underestimate the one-off things or irregular expenditures like furniture, gifts, a new TV etc. But there are always extra costs… I congratulate anyone who has the discipline to regularly save but one should be realistic and not have it become an obsession so that one does without normal things just to save a bit more.