Overstaying the 180 days on tourist visa

I have been on and off here for the whole year. It looks like it will be 7 days over the 180 days which was a surprise to me . I was quite willing to pay the fine but now I am worried. Are there really tax implications ? This is my first year of pension and has afforded me time here.  I will have to leave very soon if this is the case so any help would be wonderful. I am from Canada.

Gavin44 wrote:

I have been on and off here for the whole year. It looks like it will be 7 days over the 180 days which was a surprise to me. I was quite willing to pay the fine but now I am worried. Are there really tax implications ? This is my first year of pension and has afforded me time here.  I will have to leave very soon if this is the case so any help would be wonderful. I am from Canada.

Dear Gavin, welcome to the Peru forums of expat.com ....

The extra week you spent in Peru technically or theoretically converts your status into resident taxpayer.

You have two obvious choices as I see it if your pension income is at stake...

1.  Decide to pay Peru every cent of the worldwide income taxes it has declared it is owed by any Expat spending half of any 12-month period in La República.  You can consult an accountant or tax attorney to make sure you sign every T on the proper tax forms .. pay the freight .. and then spend much time in Peru going forward, paying up to 30 percent taxes on your income  every year.

2.  Put Peru in your rear-view mirror and do not establish a permanent residency in Peru.  Theoretically, Peru could try to cross international boundaries and seek up to 30 percent of your latest-year's income.  But they've got bigger fish to fry -- large corporations -- so their theoretical pursuit of your small-fry pension is not a certainty.