Does a no paid internship need a work permit?

Hello,

I am a student currently study tourism management in the Netherlands. Starting from February, I will have a 20 weeks internship in a tourism company in Malta. It is none financial compensation internship and is included in my study program. The passport I hold is Chinese passport. But I already got Schengen visa 3 year ago and my Netherlands resident permit is valid util 2020.

May I ask do I need to apply a visa or resident/work permit for this internship? I have emailed embassy of Malta for many times since last month. Unfortunately, I did't get any reply yet. I really need to know that since there is not much time left. Thanks in advance for any help.

Erin

Malta does not work by email, call them.

I have called them at least 10 times. Every time I need explain to her the situation but she  said I need to keep waiting. She said she know nothing about it...

Better call identity malta here in malta rather than the embassy.

https://identitymalta.com/citizenships-expatriates/

Thanks for your quick reply! Actually that is  the web page I used. I sent email to eresident department as well as central visa unit.

Erin Liu wrote:

Thanks for your quick reply! Actually that is  the web page I used. I sent email to eresident department as well as central visa unit.

And when you call them they say they don't know?

I started to contact them around 20th October, the latest contact is at yesterday morning. The lady who picked the phone said she was not familiar with apply procedure. She asked me for my email account and said will give me a reply later (that was  what she did every time when I contacted them). Unfortunately, there is never a reply after calling them.