American with limited funds

Hi guys and gals:
I am a semi retired writer looking for a quiet, inexpensive but safe place to park myself.
A place with friendly people, where I could find a part time job to supplement savings while I work in my novel.

I would prefer a stay in the Americas, since I speak Spanish and dont eant to be too far from home and family.

Any suggestions?

Hello Charles come to Georgia Tbilisi.the best place

marina-kirvalidze wrote:

... come to Georgia Tbilisi.

The OP asked for a country in the Americas, not Europe.

Charlie60 wrote:

I am a semi retired writer looking for a quiet, inexpensive but safe place to park myself. A place with friendly people, where I could find a part time job to supplement savings while I work in my novel.

I would prefer a stay in the Americas, since I speak Spanish and don't want to be too far from home and family. Any suggestions?

You're spoilt for choice, Charlie. At least a dozen Caribbean islands would suit you, and several countries in Central America - and, naturally, dozens of places in those several countries. We had our eyes on Lake Chapala in Mexico and Lake Atitlan in Guatemala, and my wife fancied somewhere in the south of Peru. There are so many, that you'd just have to pick one of the acceptable ones more or less at random, and see how you get on. You don't need to settle permanently in the first place you choose.

We're retired in Grand Cayman, prepared to move when/if this place gets too expensive. We're pushing eighty, both of us, so we wouldn't dream of buying a house in our chosen bolt-hole. There are other factors that we need to consider but you don't. (Our grandchildren live in Norway, for one!)

Give us more of an idea of the kind of place you're looking for, and the most you'd want your annual expenses to be.

Hey Gordon thanks for the reply.
Ok plans so far:
Cruise down from Florida to Chile.
Fly to destination.
Approx funds to start, approx $15k