Road safety tips

I would be up for getting a coffee. I'm new to the city and a little overwhelmed!

I hear ya. When I first arrived in HCM it was a daunting task to go anywhere. I recall getting up and just staying on the same block. I knew I should becable to get back to were I was staying if I never crossed the street. If your in a hotel get there business card and keep it handy. Then head out and it does not matter if gou get lost. Just hand the driver the business card and he will get you back from your cup of coffee. It gets easier very quickly. Soon you will beca tour guide.

I'm relying a lot on Grab, not walking anywhere. I've become familiar with my little block, but it's super daunting.
But thank you for the tip!!! I keep screenshots of the map and where it is. As well i have landmarks screenshotted on it to.
I ventured out to find a supermarket but saw the traffic and settled on a bun for dinner.

jadehmill wrote:

I ventured out to find a supermarket but saw the traffic and settled on a bun for dinner.

How to cross the street - some tips!

1. Motorbikes, all vehicles, just want to get somewhere ASAP, and streets are always full of obstructions (including pedestrians, bicycles, slower motorbikes, people pushing carts, u-turners, stopped vehicles).
Motorbikes never want to stop.
So unlike in Western countries, don't expect them to ever stop for you. They just want to go around you and keep moving.

2. Intersections are usually but not always the best place to cross; sometimes there is just too much going on in intersections. e.g. no stop light, red light runners, u-turners, very wide intersections, buses,...

3. Take a moment and size up traffic. Always look both ways before you step off the sidewalk. Even sidewalks are not safe spaces, motorbikes are everywhere.