What should I expect on arrival / Hanoi /

I have my pre-approval letter for a (1) year Business / Multiple Entry visa and was wondering what to expect when I arrive late at night in one month to Noi Bai \ Hanoi?

I assume I will after de-planing and getting luggage:

follow the crowd
wait for an available officer
Hand him my passport (valid for at least 3 years)
Hand the pre-approval Letter (I used Vietnam Visa Easy web site)
Hand $135 and my completed Vietnamese Visa Application Form NA1

I am a free lance consultant for a Hanoi firm and a licensed teacher.

What could go wrong?

Thanks in advance!

Upon arrival to Vietnam International Airports (Hanoi, Da Nang or Hochiminh), you present all things in the prepared package (passport, visa approval letter, 2 passport sized photos 4x6cm, the entry-and-exit form and stamping fee) to the Immigration officer to get your visa stamped.

Here is a map of the Noi Bai / Hanoi Airport with the Visa area identified.

https://www.vietnam-immigration.org.vn/ … hanoi.html

You will have to ask THIGV what to call it - he is the self-proclaimed expert on this matter.

Thanks for the info!

It will be warm and humid probably. You'll get to baggage reclaim after immigration. Once you have your baggage, you will go through security again and they will x-ray your baggage again - or if they are really busy they may just wave you through.

Outside the airport, remember that as a sweaty foreigner you stick out like the backside of a female baboon in oestrus  and there may be the odd pick pocket about. Keep your bags close and your wallet, passport etc in a front pocket of your pants, or in a hidden zip up pocket