General info on moving to Brazil

I'm just beginning to explore the possibility of relocating from Nashville, TN to Cuiaba, Brasilia.  I'm 28 years old with almost 10 years of hospitality experience and speak French, English, and some Spanish.  I've never considered moving abroad until recently and am looking for any general resources on becoming an ex pat, and am particularly interested in Brazil and Chile.

In May 2017, Brazil's Immigration Laws were completely rewritten, making it easier for refugees and stateless persons to move to Brazil, and somewhat harder for everyone else (and it already wasn't easy).  In November 2017, the regulations implementing the new law were issued, and that's the regime under which we're operating, now and for the foreseeable future.
To move to Brazil permanently from the United States, you have to meet one of these qualifications:
-- have a bona fide job offer in hand from a Brazilian firm, or an international firm that wants to transfer you to Brazil.  The offer needs to be approved by the Brazilian Labor Ministry; or
-- have a Brazilian spouse or domestic partner; or
-- have a Brazilian child or grandchild; or
-- be the child or grandchild of a Brazilian, or of a Brazilian permanent resident; or
-- be the sibling of a Brazilian, or of a Brazilian permanent resident; or
-- be the legal guardian of a Brazilian child; or
-- plan to invest at least the amount of capital in a new Brazilian business, and to create the number of jobs, required for approval by the Labor Ministry.

There are also temporary options, involving education, medical treatment, religious activity, and volunteer work.  You can find out  more about them on the Visas pages of any Brazilian Consulate's website. 

And of course, there's tourism.  Before trying to qualify for permanent, or even temporary residency, you should probably get to know Brazil a little:  it's an incredible country, and a Visitor's Visa ("VIVIS") is easy for an American to get.