Options to obtain temporary and permanent residence

Hi all,

My name is Katinka Theron. I was born in South Africa and is now a Namibian citizen, residing in Namibia. I have 30 years experience in various fields and can operate on management level. These fields included chemistry, metallurgy, logistic for mining/processing plants and liaison and networking on all levels in these disciplines. However, I would rather prefer to start a business. I am a single mom, and my youngest son will be matriculating in 2020.

I am currently in Mauritius, until 5 October. The sole purpose of my visit is to do some fact finding about getting residence (temporary or permanent), i.e options for business opportunities, property invesment, etc. I have been here for a few days, and the information I gathered so far, is that it is nearly impossible, due to the cost of property or the regulations about how much a business should earn for a temporary residence permit to be renewed. There is also a minimum amount required to be earned if you work as expat.

Can someone maybe direct me to a site that has the correct details in a "user friendly" version 🤔

Another question I have.  Mauritius is a SADC country, but how does it work to get your money from Namibia to here?

I will appreciate any input. At this point I am quite discouraged and more confused than ever.

Thank you

Hi Katinka,

Here's the website of the Economic Development Board, the official body under the aegis of the Government of Mauritius that oversees expat permits and foreign investment.

http://www.edbmauritius.org/work-and-live-in-mauritius/

Several avenues exist for an expat to live and work in Mauritius - investor, self employed,  professional employment, retirement or property investment.

The conditions are not that stringent in the sense that they are imposed to ensure a minimum amount of investment and transfer of knowledge and competency to the island without affecting local employment or business.