Feasibility for Expat to open a restaurant in UB

Hey all,

I'm an American citizen with dual nationality. I've successfully opened a high end American restaurant in Alexandria Egypt and now I want to bring our concept overseas. I've been studying Mongolia for about a year now and think it would be a nice market for us.

Can anyone tell me the legal issues for a foreigner to setup a company and rent space in UB?

I'm not a legal expert and I'm only going by what I was told (which seems to sometimes change depending on which official you talk to), so take this for what it's worth.

My limited understanding is that there are no special restrictions on foreigners renting/leasing or opening up restaurants, and quite a few of them have. Probably the biggest hurdle for foreigners opening a business is the initial investment requirement of $100,000USD for foreign-owned businesses. At first I thought this requirement was only if you wanted an investor residence visa as part of the business, but recently I was told it applied to majority foreign-owned businesses in general. I was also told if the foreign ownership stake is small enough (I was told the threshold was recently changed to somewhere under 20% I think) then this requirement doesn't apply. I know the foreign chefs/managers in at least three of my favorite restaurants have Mongolian wives, and while I have not asked them (it's not my place to) I would bet they probably have their spouse as majority owner to avoid that requirement. So assuming you don't have a Mongolian spouse, it looks like you will need to bring a minimum of 100,000USD to invest in your business. According to my brother-in-law, you may be able to move some of that money back out sometime after you provide proof of that stake for the registration/establishment of the business. But I recommend you double-check that, because I can't 100% confirm that.