Accessing Funds In American Banks

How is everyone accessing their funds in their American banks? Recently I had to transfer money for  my builder and it was a royal PITA. Firstly, the fees are ridiculous, 5% to transfer 5k and even to get the money after paying the fees, the money which was supposed to take 30 minutes took 3 days and several phone calls. Just wondering if there is an easier way to get money to the island.
Thanks in advance

kat!!

I made an arrangement with my US  bank to accept transfers, checks, credit cards etc as normal transactions. No red flags, just normal business.  No added fees. A wire transfer would take up to 3 days, just a small fee, not a percentage.My bank here is Banco Santa Cruz, US is W.F..   Good luck. You should receive many replies to you question.

Super newbie here and this thread is very timely as I woke up much earlier than normal this morning, here in the US, worrying about this - I was having banking nightmares LOL! I'm in California and use Wells Fargo for my local banking. Then I have a financial advisor in Houston, TX that handles my investments.

Current plan is for North Coast area for early retirement...I'm currently 49 years old. GAH! Keep WF account in the US, financial advisor wires money to that account at my request, set up a local banking account in DR, and I then transfer money to that account online myself from my WF account stateside? Is that how this works?

What happens if I get in to a fraud situation and WF needs to mail me a new debit card that I would need to use when I go back to the US? Just a few months ago, WF mailed me a new debit card unannounced because of "potential" fraud. Maintain a PO Box in the US? Have that sent to a relatives address in US, etc.?

Greg