Considering a move to the USA from UK - Want to buy house

I am seriously considering leaving London, UK to go to USA.

I am a software engineer/full stack developer and would be great to get some insights from people who have already made the move or know more about living in the USA after having lived in the UK.

UK has turned out to be a ridiculous country to live in. The house prices in London are ludicrious and you can never save money. You spend so many hours working your life here and it amounts to nothing at the end.

I want to own a house not have a landlord.

So what can be done?

I would like to know what is the best state to move to, and best city within that state in terms of high salary, low house prices, high quality of life and low taxes.

Does it exist?

Thanks,

Mike

I can't help but agree with you as to the state of the UK.
My sis is still over there and, without being too rude (yy Yorkshire standards :D), she's a ruddy idiot.
All her cash goes on the mortgage and other stuff when she could so easily set herself up in another country and live very nicely.
I wouldn't choose the US for a variety of reasons, mostly because I like Asia, but each to his own.
Have you considered the possibility of remote working because that would leave half the world open to you?

Hi Mike. I moved from Surrey UK to Houston, Tx as an ICU nurse. Best moved ever. Great opportunities to work as much as you want, do business, travel, buy brand new SUV and most specially after one year I got my own house with a lake view, twice the size compared to my old house in UK and less the mortgage I am paying thanks to the people I've known thru networking. Texas has one tax (Federal) unlike other states (Federal, State and City tax). Houston is a melting pot and there are alot of expats from UK, multi-national companies are here investing so there's a lot of work opportunities, low cost of living and affordable housing.