Legal services in India

Hello,

Legal services can be a headache when you don't have the relevant and necessary information, especially upon moving to a new country. Please share some tips regarding legal services in India.

What types of legal services might an expat need in India?

Are legal services easily accessible?

What are the best ways to go about finding a professional for your legal needs in India? (e.g. online, yellow pages, word of mouth)?

What are the most affordable options for legal services (private, public, etc.)? Is there a range regarding fees?

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Priscilla

Hi,

I am a lawyer by profession and have been practicing in Delhi courts from the past 7-8 years now. I have handled a lot of issues especially related with expats and foreigners living, working and doing business in India.

With the introduction of foreign direct investment brings novel and complex legal issues concerning foreigners living and working in India. The following kind of legal services an expat might need in a country like India -

Indian regulatory laws and compliances and dealing with it.
Real estate such as renting or leasing and dealing with the landlord issues.
Immigration and settlement issues or dealing with FRRO.
Business compliance, taxation, and registration of a company.
Employment rights, contract issues, and labor laws when working in India.

Legal services in India can be from complex commercial disputes to contract interpretation, dealing with legal matters in India can be a complex and bewildering experience. Especially litigation in India for a foreign company or an expat sometimes can be a daunting, expensive and frustrating experience.