All questions and answers about Vietnamese

Hi everyone,

I've been terribly busy so far with all the assignments in my course. Now as it seems to be easier, I am back and I want to open this topic for anyone who is learning Vietnamese and have any problems with Vietnamese (from the basic to higher levels). As I am studying linguistics, I am really interested in your questions regarding any problems or difficulties in studying Vietnamese. Please ask and i will reply to you as soon as I can.

Mandy

(I am Vietnamese, of course)

girl_like_me wrote:

Hi everyone,

I've been terribly busy so far with all the assignments in my course. Now as it seems to be easier, I am back and I want to open this topic for anyone who is learning Vietnamese and have any problems with Vietnamese (from the basic to higher levels). As I am studying linguistics, I am really interested in your questions regarding any problems or difficulties in studying Vietnamese. Please ask and i will reply to you as soon as I can.

Mandy

(I am Vietnamese, of course)

Let's start the ball rolling, will it be helpful to start learning basic communication first before learning the fundamental of pronounciation of V language?  I personally thing it is important to grasp the way we read characters, if not, a lot of brain juice is required for understanding the meaning of the word and the way to pronounce it properly.

I hope to get hold of books with reference to audio vietnamese pronounciation, possible?

I personally think learning the pronunciation first is better. Some people rush into studying some basic terms first. that can be helpful immediately but if you really want to learn Vietnamese, spend one week just to study the alphabet and how to combine them into words. Once you get that basic, the rest will be easier. You can start walking along the streets and read the bill boards or posters in Vietnamese.