Average salary for English teacher with no degree

Hi all,

I've got my first interview at an English center in Ho Chi Minh City later this week and I have no idea what is a fair number to start at when negotiating salary.

I have essentially zero experience, and no degree, but I have a TEFL certificate (not CELTA).

Thanks in advance.

Edit: Added my location (HCMC)

I guess that also depends where you stay.. smaller cities I hear pay less, maybe HCMC will also pay less than Hanoi, but not sure.. around 17-24$

I was thinking of starting closer to 300k to 350k per hour.  Would I be lowballing myself at those numbers?

"I have little experience, and no degree, but I have a TEFL certificate (not CELTA)"

With a bachelor degree and a TEFL certificate (no experience) will begin with the salary of 17$.

If you do not have at least a 'BA/BS  degree' they are not supposed even hire you.  For the center to get you a work permit, you are required to have at minimum a degree.  Without a 'work permit' you are actually working 'illegally'.  You are not even supposed to be working according to the Labor Department and the Immigration Department.  Many have in the past hired those without proper doc's and only for a couple months, so they can tell the local police they are 'still working on the paperwork'.  I would think more like 10 to 12 dollars an hour...225,000 to 270,000 VND if you are hired.
I've lived and taught here since 2004, so I am not talking out my backside when I say the above.  For the past 4 years I've taught out of my residence with permission from the Ministry of Education and Dept. of Labor...no longer at centers or universities.  Good Luck.

If you work without proper papers you are subject to arrest and immediate deportation at the whim of the police.

As Anthony64 said above, your chances of getting hired by a legit operation without a degree in something are negligible.